How well does a cheap brush set from Amazon really work?

Recently, I was looking around for a set of makeup brushes that wouldn’t cost me an arm and a leg. For my fellow beauty obsessed folk, you know exactly how difficult this is. When I was looking on Amazon, I noticed that there are literally dozens of cheap brush sets so I set out to find the cheapest set that I could that had the highest reviews. Curiosity got me, how well could a cheap brush set really work? This lead me to ordering this set iLoveCos Makeup Brushes – 24 pc for about $11 shipped using Amazon Prime.

Let’s be honest for a minute, we all know that these brushes will not work as well as high end brands but the real question is, could they be used and actually produce desirable results?

This product arrived at my door within two days [on a Sunday!] as Amazon promised and I opened up the box to be greeted by a foul scent, think acetone and melted plastic. Once opened, I individually unwrapped all of the brushes to let them air out and I was pretty impressed that they were all in good shape, in wrappers and some even in protective plastic covers. After a few hours I went back to check them out and made the immediate decision to discard four brushes that were made of “natural wool” [?] because the shedding on them was ridiculous. Other than those four, the set was pretty sturdy; I checked to make sure the metal was properly attached to the handles and all of them seemed fine. Now, time to see if they can apply makeup evenly.

Let me say, if I didn’t have any other brushes I would have been screwed. There are several flat brushes that are similar just in different sizes, which really helped with concealer and such, but not much else. The fan brush was too soft to really hold any product but was perfect for smoothing out rough edges of a powder contour. I used the blush brush to apply my highlighter and the slanted tip brush for my contour. The spoolie provided is actually really soft and full so it is perfect for the fade of eyebrows or to separate lashes if they get clumpy.

All in all, this is an okay set and as always, you get what you pay for. This set has very little variety so it is essential that it be paired with several additional brushes. The brushes that ARE in the set work fairly well but there are a few that I didn’t even touch because they were too similar to other brushes. Now for the original question, can they be used and achieve a desirable result? I mean, kinda..  Over a third of the brushes are useless but what isn’t works. If you go into it with the mindset of I’m buying 13 brushes and a strongly scented case, you wouldn’t be as disappointed. Would I buy again? Probably not, but at least this set can hold me out until I can buy another.

Until next time,
BekahBoo

2 thoughts on “How well does a cheap brush set from Amazon really work?

Leave a Reply

